National Champion Softball Team to be Honored at Virginia Sports Hall of Fame

National Champion Softball Team to be Honored at Virginia Sports Hall of Fame

VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. – The Virginia Wesleyan University 2018 NCAA Division III National Champion softball team will be honored by the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame on August 29. The Hall's marketing committee has chosen to honor the first and most recent NCAA National Champions from the state of Virginia at both the college and university levels.

Along with exhibits from the 1947 William & Mary men's tennis team, the 1972 Roanoke men's basketball team and the 2018 James Madison women's lacrosse, the Hall will have on display a team picture from this year's championship as well as the photos of some of the team's top players and the NCAA Championship trophy.  The exhibit will be available at the Hall of Fame through January 1, 2019.  

The Hall will host a formal press conference on Wednesday August 29, at 7:00 pm.  The event will be held at the VA Sports Hall of Fame, located at 249 Central Park Ave #230, Virginia Beach, VA.  Head Coach Brandon Elliott will be joined by his team as well as Virginia Wesleyan University President Scott D. Miller and Executive Director of Athletics Tina Hill. Alumni are encouraged to join.

The Marlins had an unprecedented year in 2018, posting an NCAA record 55 wins en route to its second-straight National Championship. The team only dropped one regular season contest (39-1) and was crowned ODAC regular season and Tournament Champs before moving on to the NCAA Tournament. At the year's conclusion, eight players were named All-Conference, three All-Region and two All-American. The team also boasted the Conference Player of the Year (Madison Glaubke), the VaSID State Player of the Year (Cassetty Howerin) and the National Fastpitch Coaches Association National Player of the Year (Hanna Hull).

To help support the team in its back-to-back championship celebration, follow the link HERE